Aug
14

Last year was the first BFlex event held in Bloomington, Indiana. The folks at the Bloomington Flex User Group, the Indiana University Flash User Group, and the Indiana University Multimedia User Group (all Adobe affiliated) held a fantastic hands-on training event on Adobe Flex. This year they are expanding the training opportunities and including content on ColdFusion.

I'll be attending the event this year as a speaker and assistant. My hands-on talk will be on integrating BlazeDS, ColdFusion, and AIR. Based on last years successful event and the speaker lineup for this year, you can bet this is going to be a great event at an incredible cost, FREE! Yes, 2 days of hands-on ColdFusion and Flex training, all lunches, and some sponsor giveaways and books are ALL free. All you have to do is get yourself to Bloomington, IN.

Aug
14

A little over a month ago Joshua Cyr announced the RIAdventure event, a Bahamas cruise designed for fans of ColdFusion, Flex, AIR and other technologies. The idea is get folks together who may only see each other at conferences or user groups to enjoy the sun, open sea, some island hopping, and of course tech talk!

My wife and I have been on several cruises and we're gonna venture out on this one as well. We've already spoken with the travel agent and we'll be booking our cabin and airfare this week! I thoroughly enjoy hanging out with Joshua and a slew of others slated to go. Add some drinks, sun, water, and warm weather and you'd be hard pressed to have a better time anywhere else. Prices for the cruise are incredibly reasonable. Most people unfamiliar with cruising are shocked when they learn how inexpensive it is to have a full week on a cruise ship with boarding, meals, and plenty of entertainment all included.

So cruise on over (pun intended) to the RIAdventure site, read all about the event, and consider going. I hope I'll see you there!

Aug
14

A few moments ago I spent an Audible credit on Al Gore's book Assault on Reason. After confirming my order Audible automatically began downloading part 1 and 2 of Gore's book. That wasn't anything unusual, but I admit I was surprised at the targeted user content displayed on the downloads page designed to guide me through the download process.

Continue Reading